top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejason

Jackie Venson, "Show My Light/Real Love"

A twofer for Tuesday! Here's a two-song live performance by Jackie Venson, Austin-based blues/rock musician, whose star is deservedly rising. She's the first African American woman to win Best Guitarist at the Austin Music Awards; she's played with Jon Batiste's band on the Late Show with Stephen Colbert and toured with guitar maestro Gary Clark Jr; and, as I think this clip shows, she shines brightly all on her own.


I love how she vocally harmonizes with her own guitar solos. And "Show My Light"'s sentiment, about trying to shine a light amid fear and hate, is certainly something to take to heart these days -- as are these lyrics from "Real Love": How do you live with such rapid change You blink your eyes and ain't nothing the same Won't somebody tell me so I can live my life With that real love That real love That real love May it guide us Note by note Step by step Be limitless Be patient You can check out the rest of the concert on her album Jackie Venson Live at Strange Brew, along with all her other music available for purchase in her Bandcamp store.

BONUS: I discovered her through this exuberant video, "Always Free," which was her entry to NPR's Tiny Desk Contest:

And you can find out more about her in the profile (and video) here. As always, you can listen to this and previous Songs of the Day on the Spotify playlist.

0 comments
bottom of page